WAINS

traptice

Digital insect monitoring
supported by AI

The task

Hardware and software development for digital insect monitoring

 

Nowadays, digital products and business models play an important role in the competitiveness of companies. Digital and smart solutions can also bring enormous advantages in pest control. The starting point for this project was that pest monitoring is carried out everywhere. From the food, pharmaceutical and tobacco industries, to community facilities such as hospitals and nursing homes as well as airports. Currently the standard monitoring takes place using several set up physical traps (glue or light traps), so-called monitors, which must be checked by pest controllers at regular intervals.
The basic idea and goal of the project was to develop a cloud-based solution for pest monitoring. The aim was to connect the components hardware, cloud platform and cloud services.

The functions

traptice

 

Hardware

 

The hardware was developed in such a way that the actual monitor, i.e. a special housing with integrated adhesive strips and attractant or pheromone, was supplemented by an additional housing. This contains sensors for temperature and humidity, a wireless module, a processor with radio module and two cameras that can photograph the entire adhesive surface. These cameras create an image (e.g. daily or hourly) that is automatically sent to the cloud environment (website/ app).

Artificial intelligence

 

The module is battery powered and has an additional AI component which detects the number of insects on the respective image.

 

Monitoring

 

In addition to the number of insects, current live data on temperature, humidity, battery status and more can be displayed on the monitoring dashboard; in addition, data from the past can be called up and displayed in a diagram. Time stamps of the respective images and the identification name of the monitor are shown as well as an alarm list in the lower right corner of the image. For example, the message "Low battery" could appear there as an indication.

 

Cloud

 

One advantage of the cloud is that the pest controller can access the system at any time and any place, check the infestation report and, initiate any necessary measures very very quickly.

 

Another interesting advantage is that a large part of the documentation required for the auditors is already provided by the entire system, which saves further effort for the company.

 

 

MeetNow! GmbH

Marktstraße 57

72458 Albstadt

T     +49 7431 54 923 0

F     +49 7431 54 923 99

E     info@meetnow.eu

MeetNow!

About us

Showcase

Products

Career

News

Contact

 

MeetNow!

2020 © MeetNow! GmbH. All rights reserved

WAINS
traptice 

Digitales Insektenmonitoring unterstützt durch KI

Die Aufgabe

Hard- und Softwareentwicklung für digitales Insektenmonitoring

In der heutigen Zeit spielen digitale Produkte und Geschäftsmodelle eine wichtige Rolle für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit von Unternehmen. Auch in der Schädlingsbekämpfung können digitale und smarte Lösungen enorme Vorteile bringen. Die Aus­gangssituation für dieses Projekt stellte sich so dar, dass in der Le­bensmittel-, Pharma- und Tabakindustrie, in Gemeinschaftsein­richtungen wie Krankenhäusern und PfIegeheimen sowie auch an Flughäfen überall Schädlingsmonitoring betrieben wird. Die­ses Monitoring erfolgt derzeit standard­mäßig über mehrere aufgestellte physikalische Fallen (Klebe- ­oder Lichtfallen), sogenannte Monitore, die von Schädlingsbe­kämpfern in geregelten Zeitabständen kontrolliert werden müssen. 
Grundlegende Idee und Ziel des Projektes war es, eine cloudbasierte Lösung für die Schädlingsüberwachung zu ent­wickeln. Es wurde eine Vernetzung der Komponenten Hard­ware, Cloud-Plattform und Cloud-Services angestrebt.
 

Die Funktionen

traptice

Hardware 

Die Hardware wurde so entwickelt, dass der eigentliche Monitor, also ein spezielles Gehäuse mit integriertem Klebestreifen und Lockstoff oder Pheromon, um ein zusätzliches Gehäuse ergänzt wurde. Dieses enthält Sensoren für Tempera­tur und Luftfeuchtigkeit, ein Wireless-Modul, einen Prozessor mit Funkmodul und zwei Kameras, die die gesamte Klebefläche fotografieren können. Diese Kameras erstellen  (z.B. täglich oder stündlich) ein Bild, das automa­tisiert an die Cloud-Umgebung (Website/App) gesendet wird.

Künstliche Intelligenz

Das Modul ist batteriebetrieben und verfügt zusätzlich über eine KI-Komponente, welche die Anzahl der Insekten auf dem jeweiligen Bild

er­kennt.

Monitoring

Neben der Anzahl der Insekten lassen sich auf dem Monitoring-Dashboard aktuelle Live-Daten zu Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit, Batteriestatus und mehr anzei­gen; außerdem können auch Daten aus der Vergangenheit ab­gerufen und in einem Diagramm dargestellt werden. Zeitstem­pel der jeweiligen Bilder und Kennname des Monitors sind ebenso dargestellt wie eine Alarmliste in der rechten unteren Ecke der Abbildung. Dort könnte beispielsweise die Meldung ,,Batteriestand niedrig" als Hinweis erscheinen.

 

Cloud

Ein Vorteil der Cloud ist es, dass der Schädlingsbekämpfer zu jedem Zeitpunkt und an je­dem Ort auf das System zugreifen, die Befallsmeldung überprü­fen und ggf. notwendige Maßnahmen sehr zeitnah einleiten kann.

 

Ein weiterer interessanter Vorzug ist, dass ein Großteil der für die Auditoren benötigten Dokumentation durch das gesamte System schon gegeben ist und dadurch auch hier weiterer Auf­wand für die Unternehmen eingespart werden kann.

 

MeetNow! GmbH

Marktstraße 57

72458 Albstadt

T     +49 7431 54 923 0

F     +49 7431 54 923 99

E     info@meetnow.eu

MeetNow!

Über uns

Showcase

Produkte

Karriere

News

Kontakt

 

Social Media

2020 © MeetNow! GmbH. All rights reserved